Lower River Murray, Lakes and Coorong


The Lower River Murray, Lakes and Coorong region is home to the Ngarrindjeri Nation and joined the Jawun network (July 2015). The Ngarrindjeri’s traditional areas extend one hour south-east of Adelaide from Mannum, and downstream through Murray Bridge and Victor Harbor and along the coast through Goolwa to Cape Jervis, including Lake Alexandrina and Lake Albert. Mannum is located 84 kilometres east of Adelaide. Murray Bridge is located 76 kilometres east south-east from Adelaide. Victor Harbor is located 80 kilometres in Adelaide. Raukkan is located two hours south-east from Adelaide. Goolwa is located 82 kilometres from South Adelaide. Cape Jervis is located south of Adelaide, on the Fleurieu Peninsula.

The Ngarrindjeri seek to design a future upon the following building blocks:

  • Building a strong Nation
  • Attaining financial independence
  • Build and implement sound economic development opportunities
  • Increasing Ngarrindjeri employment within NRA and in the wider community
  • Increasing Ngarrindjeri educational achievement
  • Improve the health and wellbeing of Ngarrindjeri
  • Grow as a natural resource management leader in the region
  • Protect and assert Ngarrindjeri culture
  • Continue to work with and build partnerships in the broader community

In this region, there is a growing desire among Ngarrindjeri people to create a future centred on caring for country, which incorporates respect for traditions, cultural responsibility and self-determination. Current initiatives are focused on policy development and research, land management and developing a sustainable Ngarrindjeri regional economy.